Introduction to Suffolk Reading Scale Digital

Suffolk Reading Scale (digital only) will not be available after 3 December. Contact [email protected] for support

The digital edition of the Suffolk Reading Scale comprises all six tests of the paper edition (Levels 1–3) plus an additional level, Level 4, developed for use with students aged 14–16 who are being assessed for access arrangements. The digital edition was created in 2002 to provide teachers and students with an alternative format to the paper tests with the added benefits of automatic scoring, analysis and reporting. Level 4 was added in 2007 as a response to demands for a test specifically for access arrangements.

SRS is a standardised test of reading ability. It uses multiple choice sentence completion items, and compares pupils’ scores with those of a nationally representative sample of students. The main standardisation was carried out in 2001; Level 4 standardisation was carried out in autumn 2006.

Levels 1–3 are timed at 30 minutes each and there is a short practice section that should take no longer than 10 minutes. An onscreen digital clock counts backwards from 30 minutes so that students are aware of how much longer they have to complete the test. It is not possible to exit the test until 20 minutes have elapsed. If a pupil has reached the end of the test within the allotted time, the End Test button will be available after 20 minutes. Pupils should be encouraged to go back and check their work. If they do not finish the test within the allotted time, the test will end automatically.

The tests that comprise Level 4 are timed at 24 minutes each (plus a short practice section). As with the other levels, there is an onscreen clock but students cannot exit the test until 24 minutes has elapsed.

When using Level 4 with different groups of students, the following tests should be selected:

SRS Level 4 Form A – Age 14

SRS Level 4 Form B – Age 14

to assess students in Y9 for access arrangements at KS3 in England.

SRS Level 4 Form A – Age 15/16

SRS Level 4 Form B – Age 15/16

to assess students for access arrangements in public examinations across the UK and for those wanting to use a standardised reading test with top secondary school students.

All tests are included as part of the licence for Level 4.The other three levels of the test are intended for different age groups, shown in the table below:

SRS Level Age group England Scotland Northern Ireland
1 6:00 - 7:11 Year 2 Primary 3 Year 3 (P3)
1 7:00 - 8:11 Year 3 Primary 4 Year 4 (P4)
2 8:00 - 9:11 Year 4 Primary 5 Year 5 (P5)
2 9:00 - 10:11 Year 5 Primary 6 Year 6 (P6)
2 or 2 10:00 - 11:11 Year 6 Primary 7 Year 7 (P7)
3 11:00 - 12:11 Year 7 Secondary 1 Year 8
3 12:00 - 13:11 Year 8 Secondary 2 Year 9
3 13:00 - 14:11 Year 9 Secondary 3 Year 10

Parallel tests of equivalent difficulty (A and B) enable you to administer the
SRS with little opportunity for students to copy another student’s answers. It also enables you to check group or individual reading progress over time.