System Housekeeping

Clicking on the System Housekeeping option allows you to perform a number of database and security related tasks.

Save Database Archive

It is good practice to regularly save archives. If you save an archive and then something goes wrong with your database, you can reload the data from the archive. The archiving process should be utilised as part of data management and disaster recovery practice.

To save an archive click on the Save Database Archive option.

Navigate to the location you want to save your archive, change the file name if required and then click on the Save button.

You will receive a Database archive saved message.

Load Database Archive

You can reload a previously saved archive by clicking on the Load Database Archive option.

NOTE: Loading a saved archive will completely OVERWRITE the existing information in the current database. If there are any records within the current database that you still require consider either Saving a new archive of the existing data or performing a merge database archive.

Locate your database archive and then click on the Open button to load in your archive.

You will receive the following confirmation message. If you are sure you wish to replace all of the existing information then click the Yes button otherwise click the No button.

Clicking Yes should result in a Database archive loaded message.

If there have been any problems with loading the archive then you may receive an error message, one example is shown below. Correct any errors and retry the load process.

Merge Database Archive

The Merge Database Archive works in a similar way to the Load Database Archive option except that existing student data is NOT overwritten when you load in the file. It is therefore possible to load an archive which contains duplicate data to that which is already in the working database.

Warning: Ensure that you do not merge an archive that has scrambled student names into a database with unscrambled names or vice versa. See the Scramble Student Names Option.

Click on the Merge Database Archive option and locate your database archive, then click on the Open button to merge in your archive.

You will receive the following confirmation message. If you are sure you wish to merge the archived database then click the Yes button otherwise click the No button.

Clicking Yes should result in a Database archive merged message.

Change Administrator Password

Click on the ‘Change Administration Password' option.

Enter the current password.

Enter the new password and confirm it by entering the new password again in the confirm new password box.

Click OK

If the password in the current password box do not match Lucid Recall will display an error message.

If the passwords in the new password and confirm new password boxes do not match Lucid Recall will display an error message.

Click OK and try again.

Change Scramble Key

The Change Scramble Key allows you to set an encryption key specific to your site for use with the Scramble Student Names function. Lucid Research would recommend a minimum of 8 characters for the scramble key. The more characters you use the more secure the encryption will be.

Enter your chosen key into the New Scramble Key box and then again into the Confirm New Scramble Key box, then click the OK button.

Scramble Student Names

The Scramble Student Names option is provided as a method of anonymising the students. This can be a useful data protection measure if you have to share the reports or data with outside parties. For example, if you need to send an archive of your database to Lucid Research for troubleshooting purposes.

Warning: Before you choose to anonymise data, always make a backup of your data by saving a database archive.

To scramble the student names, click on the Scramble Student Names option.

This will present you with a warning message as below. Click Yes to continue.

Once you have scrambled the student names, the Scramble Student Names option becomes disabled, and the Unscramble Student Names option becomes enabled.

You cannot edit the Student Register whilst the student names are scrambled as shown below.

Unscramble Student Names

To return the Lucid Recall database to its normal unscrambled operation click on the Unscramble Student Names option.

Lucid Recall will present the following confirmation message.

Reset Licence information

When Lucid Recall is activated (see Activating Lucid Recall) the licence information is stored internally. If you renew your licence and receive a new serial number from either Lucid Research or a distributor, you will need to reset the internally stored licence information. Note: after resetting the licence information you will not be able to skip the activation and run in demonstration mode.

Click on the Reset Licence Information option.

You will receive a confirmation message shown below.